Tuesday, January 14, 2014

More shipwrecks, famous dead people and ghosts in Mystic Seafarer’s Trail


Travel Memoir Mystic Seafarer’s Trail Revised

 
Includes More Shipwrecks, Famous Dead People and Ernie the Ledge Light Ghost

 

Mystic author Lisa Saunders has revised her travel memoir, Mystic Seafarer’s Trail, to include more shipwrecks off Watch Hill, famous dead people such as the missing headless major at Fort Griswold, and area ghosts including Ernie the Ledge Light Ghost.

 

Although her memoir ends differently, it still begins: Shortly after stepping out of my new home with my hound for our first stroll through the historic seacoast village of Mystic, a woman pulled over in her van and yelled, ‘Excuse me.’ Assuming she was a tourist wanting directions to Mystic Pizza or some other attraction, I wasn't prepared for what she really wanted to know: ‘Do you realize the back of your skirt is tucked into your underwear?’”

Saunders has since sprinkled new information throughout such as the mysterious tomb and calendar chambers hidden in Groton’s Gungywamp site. New chapters include how a beer shortage affected New England’s history, scary ghost stories from the Daniel Packer Inne and Denison Homestead, plus Lisa’s quest to turn her Mystic Stein Hoist win into a national one at the Samuel Adams Brewery in Boston.

The basic story line remains: While searching for the “7 Wonders of Mystic” with her beagle/basset hound, author Lisa Saunders uncovers the secrets behind the Titanic's shoes and Amelia Earhart's Noank wedding. But will she ever find an adventure of her own--one that will make her thin and famous? When walking the Mystic Seafarer's Trail (which Lisa designed for those who don't like to go uphill), she meets a blind sailor who invites her on a long, winter voyage. Can this plump writer defy squalls, scurvy, and her fear of scraping barnacles to survive this epic journey?

Lisa will present Mystic Seafarer’s Trail on:

Thursday, Feb 6, 2014, Noon

Books Sandwiched In, Stonington Free Library

20 High Street P.O. Box 232   |   Stonington, CT 06378   |   P. 860.535.0658

Upon conclusion of her presentation and question and answer time, Lisa Saunders will be on hand to autograph books. More info:   susanpdcm@gmail.com

Bank Square Books also carries autographed copies of Mystic Seafarer’s Trail and it is available as an e-book. Visit Lisa at www.authorlisasaunders.com.
 


###

 

About the Author: Lisa Saunders is an award-winning writer and local TV host living in Mystic, Connecticut, with her husband and hound. She works as a part-time history interpreter at Mystic Seaport, is the parent representative of the Congenital CMV Foundation and is a member of the Daughters of American Revolution (Anna Warner Bailey Chapter). A graduate of Cornell University, she is an instructor at New London Adult & Continuing Education and holds writing/publishing workshops for children and adults. A consulting publicist, she received the National Council for Marketing & Public Relations Gold Medallion. Lisa can be reached directly at saundersbooks@aol.com or visit her at: www.authorlisasaunders.com.

 

 

Reviews (critics and “fans”)

 

 

“You will laugh out loud at Lisa’s adventures in this part travel guide, part historical reference and completely hilarious tale.” Bree Shirvell, Editor, Stonington-Mystic Patch

 

“Author Lisa Saunders has mastered the art/science/gift of writer-reader communication. She’s not writing at you; she’s talking to you…no holds barred. Her frequently disarming candor evokes reader reactions ranging from chuckle to head-shaking laughter.“ George Nammack, Long Island Boating World

 

“With a keen, self-deprecating wit, Saunders tells the tale of each of the 7 Wonders [of Mystic], beginning with Wonder #1, the whaleship Charles W. Morgan.” Windcheck magazine

 

“Lisa Saunders has written an engaging and solidly researched narrative which should capture the attention of all who are interested in early New England history and the traditions of the sea that were one of its foundations.” David S. Martin, Ph.D., Professor/Dean Emeritus, Gallaudet University, Washington, DC

 

“Mystic Seafarer's Trail is full of local history, adventure, misadventure, and laughs.  Lisa Saunders has thought long and hard about the historic homes, landmarks, graveyards, and dead people of Mystic, Connecticut.  As a newbie in an old seaside town, Lisa sets out to explore what life was, is, and will be (for her) in Mystic.  She brings with her basset/beagle hound, Bailey, and a unique, thoughtful, and - often - quite humorous perspective. As you walk the streets of this small seaside town with Lisa and you get to know her, you find yourself interested, engaged, and (seriously) laughing out loud. This book is perfect for Mystic area locals, history buffs (she's done her research), sightseers, and those who could use a good laugh.  And, if they ever make the "Mystic Seafarer's Trail - The Movie," Lisa should definitely be in it. (If you've read the book, you know what I mean ;-). If you live in, or are traveling to the Mystic, Connecticut area, this book is for you.” TripAdvisor (Suzanne Doukas Niermeyer)

 

"Hi Lisa - your book was a big hit at our son's wedding!  I sent the book out early so guests could read it while traveling to Mystic and everyone said it made their trip much more interesting." K.S.

 

“I found Lisa’s anticipation of her sailing adventure just plain entertaining and could relate to her internal dialogue, misgivings, and somewhat grandiose fantasies. She is a person worth spending time with.” Ann Kuehner, LCSW

 

“I laughed out loud on a number of occasions. It’s interesting, humorous and touching.” Glenn Gordinier, author of Surfing Cold Water: A New Englander's Off-Season Obsession

 

“This book is a splendid way to tie Mystic's history to life today—a bridge from the past to the present—for any age.” Lou Allyn, Masons Island

 

“An historical—and sometimes hysterical—look at Mystic. I can’t wait to visit!” Marianne Greiner, Illustrator, New York

 

“Entertaining, witty, informative—and cute! It covers a range of topics from personal loss to finding life, history and new friends.” Kristin Hartnett, Executive Director, Laughworks, Mystic, Connecticut

 

“What a read—fascinating!” Kathleen Poole, former Chesapeake Bay waterwoman

 

 

REVIEWS ON AMAZON:

 

“If you're a native of coastal CT or even just love to go there on vacation (or want to), the Mystic Seafarer's Trail is a humorous and informational guide to the area through the eyes of local author Lisa Saunders and her dog Bailey. Through mishaps like a skirt being tucked into underwear and a sailing trip gone awry, you get a taste of the area and will laugh along the way. I would highly recommend for fans of Bill Bryson and Jenny Lawson, or people looking for a good read.” Jackie T.

 

“Mystic Seafarer's Trail is an adventure that takes you through a journey in a wonderful and humorous way. The author does an amazing job in making this book a very addicting book to read that truly I did not want to put down. It was a great journey of which I laughed, cried, and captured new meaning into my own life.” Kendra M.

 

“This author has a way of making even the most routine activities of life, like walking her dog, into a search for adventure. With her slightly self-deprecatory sense of humor, the author, a newcomer to Mystic, learns the local etiquette as well as the lore and legends of this seaside town. Readers will learn about a wide variety of topics ranging from shipwrecks to genealogy to how to become an extra in a movie. You will enjoy the author's friendly tone as she explores the history of the region and tries to create a little history of her own. Enjoyable and informative read.” ThatzRight

 

“So enjoyed reading this book--Lisa has a great way of storytelling--can hardly wait to visit Mystic and see where all of these adventures took place :)”  Marti Perhach

 

“It is really amazing to be reading a book that is written about the area in which I live. Gained a lot of knowledge about the history of the locations.” Lorraine M Sanborn

 

“Mystic Seafarer's Trail is funny, fun and informative. Funny because Lisa Saunders' adventures (real and imagined) made me smile and yes laugh! Fun because the author captured the spirit that historians experience as they undertake their adventures of discovery. Fun because the serendipity of finding "cousins" in a cemetery is not lost on any researcher. Informative? Well that is obvious. I learned a lot about Mystic and Lisa - and it was all interesting. I can't wait to visit Mystic again - and walk the Seafarer's Trail!” Marjory

 

“Settling into a new town is never easy but for Lisa Saunders and her hound Bailey the process is more adventure than nesting. From the very first page to the last you'll laugh out loud. And anyone with a fondness of Mystic, Conn, will appreciate the tour of the tiny village and the history Saunders was able to uncover. Saunders has created a hilarious story that is part travel guide, part memoir and part historical reference.” Bridget Shirvell

 

“Interesting read makes you think and wonder. drift into the past and travel with the sea folk who take their chances to better their future, no knowing what is ahead.” A. White "world traveler" (kerrville, Texas)

 

“Well written and very interesting stories. I enjoyed how she tied all the stories together and yet each one was different.” Judy H.

 

“This book was a wonderful read. I felt as if I was on some of the adventures that Lisa wrote about. Her chapters pertaining to her "voyage at sea" was very entertaining and funny. As I read this book, it really sparked an interest to visit Mystic, CT, and surrounding area someday and venture to all of the places mentioned within the book. Lisa has a great sense of humor and I found myself laughing out loud many times. I have enjoyed Lisa's previous books and look forward to her next literary adventure. Another great book from Lisa Saunders!” Daniel Elser (Dallas TX USA) -

 

“I found out through reading this that the author & I are related! This was a fun, fact-filled book. Love the history of this area.”  Michele Rolfe "Wolfpug" (Bridgeport, NY USA):

 

 

 

No comments: